Skip to main content

Keywords | 2. Shraddha


Firm faith in Sadhu (saints), Guru (spiritual mentor) and Shastras (scriptures) is called Shraddha.

There are three types of Shraddha: Sadharan Shraddha, Vishesh Shraddha and Atyantiki Shraddha.

1. Sadharan Shraddha: A sadhak with Sadharan Shraddha visits Sadhus and his Guru occasionally and tries to serve them according to his convenience. He listens to Their lectures and tries to perform devotional services a little. He gets entangled in worldly matters most of the time, but sometimes, remembers that he must associate with enlightened Sadhus to develop Bhakti for Krishna. Thus, he visits Them for a few days but again gets entangled in Maya when he comes back.

2. Vishesh Shraddha: A sadhak with Vishesh Shraddha tries to remain in association with Sadhus/Guru as much as possible and pleases Them through Their service. He tries to follow Their instructions with determination in his life. 

Such sadhaks must keep in mind that if they start finding faults in Sadhus/Guru, their Shraddha will get destroyed and they will end up committing Guru/Vaishnav Aparadhas instead of deepening their faith in Them.

3. Atyantiki Shraddha: A sadhak with Atyantiki Shraddha considers Sadhus/Guru indifferent from Krishna and follows Their instructions with complete devotion. He tries to please Them in every way possible and even surrenders his own will/intellect at Their lotus feet. 

If, occasionally, he feels there is a conflict between his will/intellect/attitude and what They instructed him to do, he becomes worried and prays to his Guru, “O Gurudev, I have developed my independent will and I am unable to surrender completely myself at Your lotus feet. Please bestow Your mercy upon me so that I can do so.” The sadhak develops such love for his Guru that he is unable to stay calm without seeing his Guru or being near Him. 

Such great Shraddha for Guru is rare in this world and it cannot be developed artificially. This kind of Shraddha is possible only through the Samskar of devotion to Guru through many previous lives. 


Popular posts from this blog

Renunciation - Where is the root of all attachments| Sri Vinod Babaji Maharaj

  The love that we see in this world between husband and wife, parents and children, family members, friends, etc. is not the pure and divine love that a Jivatma can experience with Radha Krishna. This worldly love is only a shadow of that pure love. The divine love (Prema) is transcendental, blissful and full of spiritual consciousness. Worldly love is illusory, temporary and results in disappointment. Divine love is enlightenment while worldly love is utter darkness. A person is trapped in the cycle of birth and death only as long as he or she is trapped in worldly love (including the love for one’s own bodily identity, fame, wealth, power, etc.). But as soon as the person realizes even a single ray of Prema, he is freed from the cycle of birth and death. Worldly love should be ignored and abandoned by the sadhak who wants to achieve spiritual perfection. But divine love is the most precious treasure of the spiritual world and even highly enlightened spiritual practitioners yearn

Manjari Bhav Part 1 | Sri Vinod Babaji Maharaj

  Sri Bhagvan comes down to Earth in every Yuga, but nobody ever gave the Manjari mood of devotion to the world. "Anarpita charim chirat" The Manjari mood of devotion has been given by Shri Chaitanya Mahaprabhu only. The mood of loving devotion (Prem bhakti) existed before Shri Chaitanya Mahaprabhu (as seen in Shrimad Bhagvatam in the life stories of Sri Prahladji, Sri Dhruvji, etc). Madhurya love was not new to the world at the time of Shri Mahaprabhu, but He mercifully gave the Manjari mood of love to the world. Rati (love) is classified in three types: Sadharan Rati, Samanjasya Rati and Samartha Rati. Sadharan Rati (General love) is seen in Mathura lila, where the young, female residents of Mathura were attracted to the beauty and power of Sri Krishna and hence, fell in love with Him. Samanjasya Rati (Concordant love) is seen in Dwarika lila, where the queens of Sri Krishna loved Him as their husband (and hence, the lover and the beloved are equals). Samartha Rati (Capable

Renunciation (Vairagya) & Women | Sri Vinod Babaji Maharaj

  Sridhar Swami says in his commentary about the word ‘Vairagya’ (Renunciation) that one cannot get immersed in the contemplation of God and relish the divine bliss of His pastimes until he develops Vairagya (indifference to material world). Attachment to worldly possessions and people is the cause of impurity of heart that does not let the Jivatma achieve divine bliss. Vairagya means detachment, disinterest or indifference to body and everything related to it. One develops disinterest in body and material world when he realizes that everything in this world (including this body) is temporary; it didn’t exist before nor it will exist in future, it exists only in the present. Such a temporary thing can never give pleasure to the eternal Self. It only causes an illusion of pleasure to give disappointment in the future. Attachment to such things does not allow us to progress in bhajan and experience divine bliss. The master – servant relationship between God and the Jivatma is eterna